Structural Excellence Award 2012

Date, time & venue

Structural Excellence Award 2012

The Structural Excellence Award (formerly Structural Awards) aims to promote excellence in structural engineering demonstrated through the design and construction of buildings and structures completed in the last two years. The first award was held in 1998/1999 and this year is the fourteenth event. On 17 March 2012, the Judging Panel short-listed seven finalists. Following site visits and project presentations on 21 April 2012, awards were decided with emphasis on engineering approach, innovation/unusual features, buildability, sustainability/durability, energy efficiency/environmental consideration and aesthetics.


There are two categories of entries, namely Hong Kong Projects and Mainland/Overseas Projects. Grand Award of Hong Kong Project goes to the Tin Shui Wai Public Library cum Indoor Recreation Centre, and Grand Award of Mainland/Overseas Project goes to the China World Tower, Beijing.


Hong Kong Projects

Grand Award

Tin Shui Wai Public Library cum Indoor Recreation Centre

Structural Engineer:Architectural Services Department, The Government of HKSAR


Commendation Merit

Opus Hong Kong

Structural Engineer:Ove Arup & Partners Hong Kong Ltd.


Re-Provisioning of Kenndy Town Swimming Pool Phase 1

Structural Engineer:AECOM.


Mainland / Overseas Projects

Grand Award

China World Tower, Beijing, China

Structural Engineer: Arup


Commendation Merit

Al Shaqab Equestrian Performance Arena for Qatar Foundation, Qatar, Doha

Structural Engineer:WSP Hong Kong Limited


Hang Lung Jinan Parc 66

Structural Engineer:AECOM


Marina Bay SANDS Integrated Resort

Structural Engineer:Arup


Special Appreciation to a Charity Project

Arup x WZQ Bridge

Structural Engineer:Arup.


Please refer to the annual report 2011-2012 for more information.

Copyright © 2023 The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers. All rights reserved.